Who is Cassandra Parker?

Hmm… who is Cassandra Parker? Have you ever noticed that the older we are and the more we experience, the harder it is to answer that question? As children with vibrant innocence, the answer was simple, it was ourselves. As we mature, we realize that the answer is not quite so simple. Who we all are depends on what our experiences have been and how we decided to interpret our experiences. Many of us can be predictable when it comes to how we may react because of our pasts.

Cassandra Parker is my official name, the main part of my introductory line when meeting new people: “Hi, my name is Cassandra Parker.” However, my name plays no part in how people may react to hearing or seeing my name.

Cassandra Parker is an abuse survivor. 18 years, give or take a few months, worth of pain. My experiences, statistically, should have led me to a life of self destruction, however, I didn’t have just me to survive for. I, also, had a younger brother who was dependent on my inner strength to get us both out of our situation alive. We may be wounded, damaged, bleeding, but we are able to heal.

Cassandra Parker is not known for being a survivor. I’m labeled as “one of the nicest people you’ll ever meet”. Let it be known that I was not taught how to love or play nice from my “life-givers” (parents). Thankfully, the education system and an overdeveloped sense of right and wrong taught me how to be able to distinguish how the outside world should be treated. Close friends and a maternal instinct over my little brother taught me how to love. I’ve seen and felt the good and the bad of the world so I fear and respect the human race, yet I can’t help but feel pity for it as well. I fought the statistical urge to become a druggie, suicide victim, or criminal. I can’t say that I didn’t give in to those urges over the years but those urges only muffle the pain and the real reason behind it all won’t ever be addressed.

Cassandra Parker, yester-years, was a statistic waiting to happen. Cassandra Parker, today, is a survivor of the odds.

Cassandra Parker, today, is an almost 20 year old who decided to survive to live, not just exist.

One comment

  1. Jeyna Grace · June 23, 2015

    That’s the attitude!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

